Digital dementia

Interesting article on The Drum’s website today: Doctors warn of ‘digital dementia’ rise amongst tech users. This is where heavy tech users (e.g. people who use their smartphones for hours and hours), show an inability to remember everyday things like phone numbers.

There’s been a surge in teens with memory problems and ‘digital dementia’ causes deterioration in cognitive abilities which is more likely to be seen in people who have suffered head injuries.

Byun Gi-won, a doctor at the Balance Brain Centre in Seoul, told the JoongAng Daily, said: “Over-use of smartphones and game devices hampers the balanced development of the brain.Heavy users are likely to develop the left side of their brains, leaving the right side untapped or underdeveloped.”

[Filed under BRICKwatch]

(I think) I had a digital dementia moment this weekend, when I went to pay for a suit in a shop and my mind went blank as I was about to enter my PIN. Mashups of my personal card PIN and my company card PIN kept popping into my head and I had two failed attempts before I decided to use the company card!  For some reason, I could remember that PIN clearly, but not my own.

About 5 minutes later, when telling a mate about it on the phone, my personal PIN popped into my head and the fog lifted. Scary how reliant we are on these things and how many usernames, passwords and PINs we have to remember now.

I’ll try not to overuse the ‘digital dementia’ card when I forget things…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

